A letter to Christopher Krzeminski @marco_iO9 about his book “What Are You Without God?”

Dear Christopher Krzeminski,

Thank you for writing What Are You Without God?! I think it’s a very well-written, and very well-reasoned book. It has helped me tremendously.

I grew up in the 50s and 60s, a time when atheists were  generally thought of as evil, mostly communists from the Soviet Union, and practically from another planet. I was raised in Judaism. As soon as I left for college I stopped practicing Judaism. I was quite disenchanted with religion. Later I met my now wife, and she got me into “new age” things. For a while I went with that. Reincarnation, the eternal consciousness of the soul, things happen for a reason, etc. After a while I couldn’t handle that anymore, and became a deist. God created the universe and then did nothing and has no concern for humanity or our planet. That went on for decades.

Finally, and very recently, I began to consider atheism. I had long ago decided that God was not worth my time. But I never allowed myself the idea that God was not anything at all. I never realized how strong the culture is around God. Sure you don’t have to be “religious,” – you’re free to do whatever “flavor” of theism you want! It could be Christianity, Judaism, Islam, new age, Native American “spirtuality,” whatever. But some flavor had to be chosen. I don’t know why but I didn’t think the option of no flavor could be chosen.

Until now.  I decided to try on atheism. I read several books, including yours. Each one has given me more understanding about how atheism, for me, best fits the actual reality that is. I dearly wish I had come to this at your age of 31, Mr. Krzeminski, rather than now as I am approaching 60 years old.

In closing, I’d like to tell you what I am without God, because this is what I’m truly liking, what is truly revolutionary, and what is just flat-out blowing me away. I now experience a happiness and a peace of the kind that I have never experienced. Everything is much less important than it used to be. I don’t get stressed over anything anymore. I’m not beating myself up for my past regrets anymore. The present moment is so very, very much more present. I live and feel and cherish each moment in a more heightened way, because I know that each moment is one less moment that I will have, until one moment I will be no longer. Every moment is a moment that will never happen again.

Life, for me, comes down to three simple things: connecting with and caring for one another, keen awareness of the present moment, and having as much fun and enjoyment of each moment as possible. And that’s it.

Many thanks again. Wishing you a great life.

Sincerely and gratefully yours,

Michael Fogler
@michaelfogler
https://michaelfogler.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

